Sought After

And you will be called Sought After, a City Not Forsaken…

…and I Took Back What He Stole From Me

with 14 comments

My Momma always said, “Absence makes the heart grow fonder”.  Are you fond of my blog yet?  You should be, it’s been absent almost a year.  I could blame it on slow internet or busyness, but that wouldn’t be entirely true…it would be entirely a lie.  

I’ve had this fragment of a song going through my mind for the past several days. “I went to the enemy’s camp, and I took back what he stole from me.”  I’m not sure where I heard it, but it has seemed pretty appropriate.  What was stolen from me?  What did I take back?  This.  Writing.  You are witness to the Lord’s victory, simply by reading this blog!

I have always considered myself a decent writer (I am not asking you to agree and certainly not asking you to disagree, just being honest) and have always enjoyed writing.  But over the years I have all but quit. Quit writing in all its forms; journaling, blogging, even emailing.  I’ve mostly just avoided it and what little I have written has been pounded out grudgingly.

The Lord likes to talk to me while I drive my moto and the other day this was the topic.  He began by asking why I had quit writing.  My first response was, “why not”?  Not surprisingly this was not a sufficient answer.  He asked me again.  “I don’t have time.”  Wrong answer Number Two.  “I don’t like it.”  Yeah, God’s not gonna buy that.  “I have nothing to say.”  Ding, ding, ding!  Honesty as last.

He then proceeded to gently agree, “You’re right.  You have nothing to say, but I have a lot to say and I want to say it through you”.  We hashed this out for a few blocks and finally I understood.  Writing is a gift God’s given me.  A way to share what He’s doing, what He’s teaching, Who He is.  I should be using it to declare His glory.

He showed me that I’ve allowed Satan to silence me by stealing my passion for writing and leaving in its place the lie that I have nothing to say and that God has nothing to say through me.  As if somehow, what the Lord is doing in me, through me, and around me is not worth sharing.

Here’s an excerpt from my first journal entry of 2012 (my first since September):

     “You’ve given me the gift of writing, which means You’ve given me something to say, because You     
      do not give incomplete gifts.  Forgive me for allowing Satan to steal that gift and shut me up, for
      rolling over and letting him walk away with Your glory.”

So as I swerved through intersections that day, I went to the enemy’s camp, told him where to go, and took back what he stole from me, in the name and by the authority of Jesus.  What God is doing in me and in Cambodia is worth telling.  His glory is worth declaring.

     “Come and hear, all you who fear God, and I will tell what he has done for my soul.”  Psalm 66:16

I hesitate posting this for a few reasons.  It is a really personal thing for me and not something I am excited to broadcast.  I also don’t’ want to misrepresent my intentions; my blogs are still likely to be less than regular.  But who better to keep me accountable than the entire internet?!

 

     

Written by stephndavis

January 1, 2012 at 4:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A-M-E-N! So proud of you for fighting back and doing this thing. I can so relate. And let me tell you, it gets easier. And you’re already one step ahead of the average Joe, because you are doing/seeing amazing things here in this country. God will honor his promise to give you the words. And he will get much glory. And we will all be blessed. Win win win!

    Marla Taviano

    January 1, 2012 at 4:23 am

  2. I LOVE this….could have written the exact thing word for word. Well, except for the moto part….He tends to pick laundry time or showers to grab my attention. Anyways, I love what you have to say and am looking forward to reading a whole lot more of what you are going to be writing this year! We miss you!

    Keri

    January 1, 2012 at 4:35 am

    • So very, very proud of you and what you do. I know God and your momma is looking down on you saying you go my daughter ! Can’t wait to read more. Love and Prayers. Hey are you still getting your money from us, I haven’t seen where it is comming out. Let me know . Love Sue

      Sue Walters

      January 1, 2012 at 10:41 am

  3. Yaaaah! I love your first blog of 2012 and I look forward to hearing from God through you! Good girl… and kudos to Marla for holding your toes to the fire and getting you going!

    Sharon K

    January 1, 2012 at 8:10 am

  4. Wonderful. Write away, we’re reading and listening!

    Vanessa

    January 1, 2012 at 9:00 am

  5. Awesome blog Steph. I can hear your fire and I’m excited about your upcoming posts, to hear about the cool things God is doing in and around you. I know it’s only been a day…but God is doing something new in Cambodia in 2012. I can feel it! Amen?

    Elise

    January 1, 2012 at 11:27 am

  6. Thanks for writing Steph! I’m thrilled that you are letting the Lord use your gifts. Thanks for being encouraging, when you’re just upstairs or when you’re thousands of miles away, the Lord uses you to encourage my own heart is such real and tangible ways. Love you sister 🙂 and can’t wait to see all the Lord teaches me through you.

    Franki Girl

    January 1, 2012 at 12:15 pm

  7. Ah, Steph…. awesome! I’ve always loved reading your writings – those you shared from school years and others. First, Mike has reclaimed his music; and now, you are taking back your writing. God’s healing comes in His time; in His way and, you’re right, for His GLORY! It seems His deepest work in us often goes on beneath the surface of things…and we can be unaware of its happening until He knows we’re ready and healthy enough to receive and move forward. Praise Him! He is a God of restoration – giving back much more than we have lost – He gives Himself. You do have and will have much more to share of His work in Cambodia and in you… Thank you for sharing! I love you very much, Aunt Barb

    Barb Mentzer

    January 1, 2012 at 4:51 pm

  8. Excited that you claimed your gifts back in His name! excited to hear what God has to say through you!! You are a beautiful woman of God and He is doing some mighty things in Cambodia!!

    stephtegan

    January 1, 2012 at 8:20 pm

  9. Um, you have a lot of people reading (and loving) your blog. I’m kind of ready for your next post. Thursday?

    Marla Taviano

    January 2, 2012 at 11:00 am

  10. I’ve been struggling with that same lie, and your honesty is really encouraging!!! Thank you, and speak on!

    Shannon Wheeler

    January 2, 2012 at 11:14 am

  11. “…He’s under my feet, he’s under my feet, Satan is under my feet!”

    Nancy

    January 2, 2012 at 9:33 pm

  12. I’m glad your letting HIM talk through you!!! Enjoyed the blog and hope to read more. Your in our prayers.

    Deb and Vicki

    January 4, 2012 at 10:57 pm

  13. glad you’re back steph. i’ve missed hearing about what you are up to. godspeed, duff

    duff

    February 5, 2012 at 12:43 am


Leave a Reply

